TTU May Workshop: Day… Whoa.

Well, I finally gave my first presentation to the other members of the program today and received some great questions and good feedback. (Dammit, someone slipped me a “pacing,” though!) As I’ve been watching and learning from others through the week, I’ve noticed that the mark of a good presentation in this group doesn’t necessarily seem to be the accolades or critical feedback received, but the number and complexity of questions asked–and I got a few good ones! (Along with some nice, thoughtful comments from folks after it was over.)

For those interested, (Hello? Bueller? Bueller?) my presentation was entitled “Style, Content, and the Response of Rhetoric” (you can check out the .ppt here, though it may not make too much sense without me there…). In the presentation, I discussed the debates surrounding the separation of style/presentation and content in CSS and Single Sourcing, offering rhetorical flexibility and the concept of Kairos as a possible response to the two. Though mostly concerned with Web design, I really got into some of the research done about single sourcing in TC, as it’s some surprisingly compelling stuff–lots of questions about users, writers, and documents and how they are affected by ss practice.

It was a good experience, and I’m looking forward to the coming year of coursework. This May seminar/workshop has been (and will be for a few more days yet) a fantastic experience, and I’m already looking forward to next year. Mostly, though, I just want to go home and see my family.

One thought on “TTU May Workshop: Day… Whoa.

Leave a Reply

