Calling Out Writing Teachers

Working on writing up my survey materials today–here’s a great perspective from one participant that I don’t think I’ll be able to weave into the write-up but want to share, regardless.

“I think our discipline needs to develop better descriptive/predictive/even prescriptive models for collaboration: what techniques to use for what kinds of projects, etc. To me, the social dynamics are what makes collaboration so valuable, complex, and sometimes frustrating. Also, we should be teaching these techniques in our classes, rather than just making students collaborate and expecting they’ll magically figure out how.”

Yes, yes we do. I had an epic fail this semester on getting students to participate in a collaborative writing project, but reading this inspires me to try, try again.

Now, back to the write-up.

Leave a Reply

