Book Review: Cities of the Plain

Cities of the Plain (Border Trilogy, Vol 3) Cities of the Plain by Cormac McCarthy

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I liked this book. I liked it a lot. But All the Pretty Horses and The Crossing set such a high mark that this book was probably set to fall short from the beginning. It just wasn’t as gripping as the others. And the whole cowboy-falls-in-love-with-a-prostitute thing is kind of done. Archetypical? Okay. Works to serve McCarthy’s thematics in the trilogy? Sure, absolutely. But I was expecting something a little more… creative than that, I suppose. Invention runs out, I guess.

View all my reviews >>

Leave a Reply

