Food Rules: The Review. (Burp)

Food Rules: An Eater's Manual Food Rules: An Eater’s Manual by Michael Pollan

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Put away the corn dog; it’s going to be okay…A ‘definitive compendium of food wisdom.’ Well, I don’t know about compendium, but regardless, I really liked this book. If you’re expecting a thorough and detailed treatise on Western nutrition, look somewhere else. This is short, sweet, and to the point. (I’ve not read it, but I’ve heard that the author’s “In Defense of Food” is certainly worth the read, and weightier, too. Something to really sink one’s teeth into, if you’ll pardon the food pun.)14o pages. 63 rules for food. Grouped around three simple principles: Eat Food. Mostly Plants. Not too much. If you can’t ingest this little text in a day, shame on you. Sure, there’s nothing that’s just absolutely earthshattering here (as Pollan notes, he gives mostly advice your great-grandmother would give you), but that’s really the best aspect of the book, in my opinion. The takeaway here is easy: simple and memorable principles like “Avoid food products with more than five ingredients” and “shop the peripheries of the supermarket” or “don’t eat breakfast cereals that change the color of your milk.” That’s it. No blowhard proselytizing, no charts, no lists of -oxyns and inscrutable abbreviations. Just stuff about food.I read this with my wife over the last day or so, and both of us are feeling inspired. We were going to skip our vegetable garden this year, but after being reminded that a 70$ investment in a garden can mean a 600$ savings in grocery bills, as well as being reminded just how much we enjoy growing our own food, we’re planning to expand the garden instead. If you just want to eat, enjoy cooking, and still feel like you’re being nutritionally responsible, this book is some helpful reinforcement and advice.

View all my reviews >>

One thought on “Food Rules: The Review. (Burp)

  1. You still have to see Food, Inc. I’m telling you–fully aware at how trite and corny this sounds–but that movie changed me.

    I’ve changed how I eat and how I think about food since watching that movie. It’s hard to be a scholar–at least for me–an not be concerned w/ my own “ethos.” I’ve decided since watching that movie and reading more of Pollan’s books to be a more ethical eater. It’s hard but it hasn’t really been that hard.

Leave a Reply

